Tripping on Mood Swings

It is Eid Mubarak. 

The long holiday put me off into somewhat ‘off to crappy land’ mood. Just because there was an instruction for us to travel east without compromise. Such intense communism. Pfffft.

I became resentful. Because this trip would mean I’d had to struggle with laundry by end of the week on top of the schools reopening on normal non-fasting schedule. This means all of the extracurricular activities will resume and I may not be able to grasp everything in my head to do. More to even pack for that instructed ‘getaway’. #FeelingOverwhelmed (or slapping someone silly!)

So I took my time and just bring what I could think of for myself. And what to bring for the 5-6 hour drive. Pffft. I just left everything else for my other half to settle. I just completely went into my own pace as he struggled with my Lala land pace to get out of the house.

A few incidents happened that made me lose my cool (if I had any) ie tantrum since the small things I had to have to keep me happy and sane (Mojito shower gel) was carelessly left behind in a relative’s house by a child; among other things. (Confession: I told the kids I didn’t want to be there in the first place – which was really mean – bad mommy!). But after that, they knew they had to be responsible of taking care of their emotionally decapitated mom.

I also went into automorphism reading articles off my android in people’s houses. I had to be sane throughout the entire thing right? Talking would mean, I would either be so cynical in the surrounding I was stuck in or me picking up my eyeballs or me being torn apart with the whole entire meaning of this trip or having my ears melting Dow to my feet just having to ‘overhear’ conversations that are ‘duh’.

But then again, God is fair. I got the good in the bad. And the bad in the good. Who knew I’d get my period as we left the town after 2 months of absence? Damn these hormones. 

So life is interesting. Because even at the age of 40, I clearly still struggle with myself. 

Tripping on Mood Swings

Leave a Reply

