Unfollower

I have unfollowed some friends on Facebook. They were people with whom I had toxic relationships with that I decided to get out off. I’m too nice to unfriend them (Well, actually I prefer not to deal with questions by the public) so I compromised with “unfollow”.

Getting to the life that we are at now, those people are blessed with good fortune. They are able to travel, be where they want to be, own what they want and eat as they please. I really don’t need envy within me. Moreover I have been struggling for the past few years and still am for this leg of time. So yeah, let’s be fair to me. Let my sight be gone to be content with that I have now.

So I’ve done quite okay – only up until yesterday – LoL. This itchy lady scrolled for some names and felt her green cheeks warming. It flowed down her neck. In her shoulders. Enough. I did the best thing, I logged out.

But the reflection of what I saw still repeats itself today. I feel really sorry for myself. No amount of money can match their inner happiness with mine, because what they show is only physical on social media. You don’t flaunt things that are meaningful to you. I just feel it that way.

I don’t know. Sometimes I contradict.

Maybe I wallow for just, where I am now. It’s actually not bad. I still have a roof above my head, food on my table and a car to drive around in. Count your blessings. It’s just envy that you have, woman. It’s okay. It’s normal. You’ll be fine.

Unfollower

2 thoughts on “Unfollower

  1. Yeah me too, ugh. I read an article recently that reports a study of increased depression for those who scroll through the images of social media. Who liked mine? Why not? And the pressure to say something witty when I am feeling a bit bitchy, or post pictures of my random boredom. In the past I chose to unfollow those who daily post…i live in Mexico and social media allows my family, and I faced it my true buds – a number i can count on one hand…so how did it happen that I had 300 friends? Recently I bodaciously unfriended peeps i hardly know, who i shall never see or get a phone call from. My discipline is to post updates…only when a worthy event takes place. I use the private messenger to chat…thanks for your refreshing transparency.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

