Interview with the Vampire

I remember the first time I watched Interview with the Vampire. That was the first time I laid my eyes on him. I fell in love with somber Louis. It also marked my journey with the book, and its subsequent series The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the Damned, many years ago.

It is only today that I learnt Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire was written in 1976. That was the year I was born in. It feels intriguing somehow how reading it felt so right. And that the movie was the first movie I ever watched on Laser Disc. I cried along with Louis when Claudia burnt to ashes.

The revelation of the book and its subsequent writings gripped me in some ways. I understood when it said how after so many lives is known from every drop of blood sipped, that the Queen and her King knew what life meant. How menial are the things we complain about. How we tend to pursue things that is really just a temporary excitement instead of something that lasts a long time with dignity. And what terrible life really mean.

To tie that back with what I had been going through, I feel ashamed of myself; because I understood, and I had forgotten. I’ve always floated above it. I should still do the same. Perhaps I have been looking too inwardly not wanting to see out. Being above it instead of inside of it.

Truth be told, there are days where I hover like the Queen, and sometimes Lestat; but where I am honestly half the time, Louis. Somber. The cursed. But I suppose, every INFJ feels this way. Cursed with this percentage base of sorrow. Wallowed until they find out that they are INFJ and that dissolves a ton of weight on their head.

I loved reading the books but it certainly put me into this nerve-wrecking positions while doing so. Anne Rice, Stephen King and Jodi Picoult’s writings often put me in bizarre sittings sprawling across the room with nail and finger biting – so desirably uber sexy. Haha.

182g4j85k5u1pjpg

I should read more. From books. Not articles that glide from within Facebook. Or eBook. The feel is not the same as gliding pages with your fingers.

Yes. I should.

Author: momsthetruth

Struggling INFJ living in broad daylight and pretends she sleeps through the day like a vampire but knows nothing about Twilight, aside of that hairy beast thing that changes when the girl he can't have does something that can get herself killed.

4 thoughts on “Interview with the Vampire”

    1. It’s amazing that after writing this post, I found The Vampire Lestat staring at me in the corridor of the house. Dududu…

      I won’t be picking that one up soon coz I feel spooked lately. *nervous laugh*

      Yeah, at another time, Lestat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

